What to Know About the 2022 Nobel Prizes

What to Know About the 2022 Nobel Prizes

Nobel Prize season is upon us once again. Every October, committees in Sweden and Norway name laureates in a variety of prizes in the sciences, literature and economics, as well as peace work. In total, six prizes will be awarded.

Throughout the pandemic, the Nobels have made adjustments. In 2020 and 2021, some events were canceled in favor of a digital ceremony for the winners, and the Oslo ceremony for the peace prize was smaller than in most years, with a limited audience.

Laureates will receive their Nobel Prize medals and diplomas in Stockholm in December, the organization said, and winners from the previous two years will also be invited.

Here is a quick guide to this year’s prizes.

Six Nobel Prizes are awarded every year, each recognizing an individual’s or organization’s groundbreaking contribution in a specific field. Prizes are given for physiology or medicine, physics, chemistry, economic science, literature and peace work, which often draws the most attention because of the caliber of people and groups nominated.

This year, there are 343 candidates for the Nobel Peace Prize, the Nobel committee said. (Here’s how those nominations work.)

Previous Nobel Peace Prize winners include Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzai (2014), President Barack Obama (2009), Nelson Mandela and F.W. de Klerk (1993), the 14th Dalai Lama Tenzin Gyatso (1989) and Mother Teresa (1979).

One prize will be announced each day from Monday to Oct. 7 and again on Oct. 10, between 5 a.m. and 7 a.m. Eastern time. Announcements are made in Stockholm and Oslo, and will be streamed live on the official digital channels of the Nobel Prize.

The award for physiology or medicine will be announced on Monday.

The award for physics will be announced on Tuesday.

The award for chemistry will be announced on Wednesday.

The award for literature will be announced on Thursday.

The award for peace work will be announced on Oct. 7.

The award for economic science will be announced on Oct. 10.

Nobel Prize laureates will receive a Nobel Prize diploma, a Nobel Prize medal and a document detailing the Nobel Prize amount, which this year amounts to 10 million Swedish krona, or about $900,000 in current exchange rates.

See a complete list of 2021 winners here.

Source link